The winners of the Goteborg Dragon Awards

The winners of the Dragon Awards, which take place at the end of the Goteborg Film Festival, have been announced. Here are the winners!

(Info via press release)

Land of Mine (2015)
Land of Mine (2015)

Best Nordic Film: Land of Mine

Land of Mine directed by Martin Zandvliet won the festival’s grand prize, Dragon Award Best Nordic Film. The award is financed by Volvo Car Group, Region Västra Götaland and the City Council of Gothenburg.

Land of Mine tells the story of a forgotten part of Danish history: how German prisoners of war were allowed to stay after the war and clear the Danish beaches of mines Germans had planted there.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to a film which shows the tragic cycles of war, when the winners adopt the brutal techniques of the losers. A very intense, suspenseful and beautiful film, which depicts the exploitation of children swept into war and that uncovers new facts about postwar Denmark. The winner of The Dragon Award Best Nordic Film 2016 is Land of Mine, by Martin Zandvliet.

Best Nordic Documentary: Don Juan

This year’s Dragon Award for best documentary has been awarded to Jerzy Sladkowski for his film Don Juan.

A film about 22-year-old Oleg, who lives with his mother, Marina, in Nizhny Novgorod. Maria is open with her opinion that Oleg does not live up to her expectations of how a real man is supposed to be, because she thinks he’s an autistic slacker. Aiming to make a better life for him and at the same time make him more “normal” she signs him up for a number of different treatments, the one more unconventional and surprising than the other.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to a captivating story with an unforgettable main character. It is sharp and confident. Modern and at the same time grounded in a classical documentary tradition.The filmmaker has chosen to depict a sensitive persons struggle in a dysfunctional and conservative Russia. In a film that makes us ask the question: What is normal?

The winner of The Dragon Award Best Nordic Documentary 2016 is Don Juan, by Jerzy Sladkowski.

Sven Nykvist Cinematography Award: Petrus Sjovik (The Model)

This year the Sven Nykvist award for cinematographers goes to Petrus Sjövik for The Model.

The jury’s motivation: The award for cinematography goes to a film that radically reverses the roles of model and photographer. Without using the seductive visual language of the French fashion scene, the cinematography persistently presents an everyday life. The dream is to be the face of Chanel – and the forceful, intentional and analytical camera work mirrors a strong determination to make it as a model. The winner of The Sven Nykvist Cinematography Award 2016 is: Petrus Sjövik for The Model.

The FIPRESCI Prize: Sparrows

This year’s FIPRESCI award goes to Rúnar Rúnarsson for Sparrows.

The prize is handed out by the International Federation of Film Critics and goes to one of the films in the competition Dragon Award Best Nordic Film.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to an honest, unpredictable and beautifully crafted film about adolescents growing up in a small community subject to generational clashes. The winner of The Fipresci Award 2016 is Sparrows by Rúnar Rúnarsson.

Lorens Award: The Yard

The 2016 Lorens Award goes to Emma Åkesdotter Ronge, producer of this year’s opening film Yarden.

The jury’s motivation: The award goes to a producer who demonstrates a lot of courage and a strong intuition above the ordinary. In a well executed and consistent film with a strong internal drive, the harsh reality is portrayed with a unique artistic expression that blooms into poetry.

The winner of the Lorens Award 2016 is: Emma Åkesdotter Ronge, for Yarden

The Audience Award Best Nordic Film: Welcome to Norway

Welcome to Norway! by Rune Denstad Langlo was awarded the Audience Award for best Nordic film.

Welcome to Norway was one of the nominees in this year’s Dragon Award Best Nordic Film competition and was awarded the Audience Award for best Nordic film.

Nordic Honorary Dragon Award went to Susanne Bier who received it at a Master Class on January 30. The Honorary Dragon Award was given to Tom Hooper who received the distinction at Stora Teatern on February 3.

Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.