The Winners of the 2015 Bodil Awards


Award season has been in full swing, and before things can truly come to a close, we of course have to have the annual Danish Bodil Awards. I know what you’re thinking – didn’t Denmark just have an awards ceremony? Well you’d be correct! The Robert Awards (Robertprisen) were held on the 1st of February, and were dominated by Nymphomanic, with it taking home the title of Best Film and Lars von Trier himself showing up to collect the award. The Bodil Awards are slightly different: they are presented annually by the Danish Critics Association, and are regarded as one of the oldest award ceremonies in Europe. They are given without regard to commercial interest or the box office, but rather are a way of celebrating the films and actors who critics regard as the most worthy. Basically, the Robert Awards are more mainstream, where the Bodils are for more artistic credits.

But enough education, who won? The biggest prizes went to Silent Heart, which surprisingly didn’t fare so well at the box office, despite being regarded as a fantastic film. The Bodil Awards recognised this and gave the film the awards for Best Film, Best Lead Actress (Danica Curcic), the Danish Writers Guild best Screenplay Award, and best supporting actor to some guy named Johan Philip Asbæk – or as he is more commonly known and loved, Pilou Asbæk.Joshua Oppenheimer continued his winning streak taking home Best Documentary for The Look of Silence, and Ruben Ostlund received ‘Best non-American film’ (that must make up for his lack of Oscars nominations, which we here at Cinema Scandinavia HQ are still bitter about).
All in all, the winners seem very fair and deserving, and highlight just how well Danish film is currently doing both domestically and abroad.

Find a full list of winners here:

Best Danish Film

  • Silent Heart
  • All Inclusive
  • Speed Walking
  • The Sunfish
  • When Animals Dream


Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Henrik Birch – The Sunfish
  • Villads Boye – Speed Walking
  • Uffe Rørbæk Madsen – In Real Life (2014 film)
  • Mikael Persbrandt – Someone You Love

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Danica Curcic – Silent Heart
  • Bodil Jørgensen – All Inclusive
  • Ghita Nørby – Silent Heart
  • Paprika Steen – Silent Heart
  • Sonia Suhl – When Animals Dream

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Pilou Asbæk – Silent Heart
  • Anders W. Berthelsen – Speed Walking
  • David Dencik – Speed Walking
  • Lars Mikkelsen – When Animals Dream
  • Ali Sivandi – Flow

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Susanne Storm – The Sunfish
  • Sarah-Sofie Boussnina – The Absent One (2014 film)
  • Danica Curcic – The Absent One
  • Sidse Babett Knudsen – Speed Walking
  • Birgitte Hjort Sørensen – Someone You Love

Best American Film

  • Boyhood
  • Her
  • Inside Llewyn Davis
  • Dallas Buyers Club
  • Nebraska

Best Non-American Film

  • Force Majeure
  • Winter Sleep
  • Ida
  • Two Days, One Night
  • The Past

Best Documentary

  • The Look of Silence
  • The Circus Dynasty
  • 1989
  • The Arms Drop
  • We Are Journalists


Bodil Honorary Award: Viggo Mortensen

Bodil Special Award:  Molly Malene Stensgaard, film editor, for editing Nymphomaniac and Nymphomaniac Director’s Cut

Best Cinematography: Niels Thastum for When Animals Dream

Henning Bahs Award: Rie Lykke for Speed Walking

Danish Writers Guild Best Screenplay Award: Christian Torpe for Silent Heart

Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.

Comments are closed.