The winners of the 2015 Amanda Awards

The Norwegian Amanda Awards were held in Norway yesterday as part of the Norwegian International Film Festival. the top winner was Børning, taking home four prizes including Best Feature. Other winners include Here is Harold for Best Actor (Bjørn Sundquist) and Best Screenplay to 1001 Grams (Bent Hamer).

What is the Amanda Award? As posted on the Norwegian Film Institute website, the Amanda awards were created to increase the quality and interest in Norwegian films. It began in 1985 and the prize is organised by the Norwegian International Film Festival in co-operation with the NFI.


Here are the full winners:

Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release: Børning – directed by Hallvard Bræin, produced by John M. Jacobsen, Sveinung Golimo and Marcus Brodersen for Filmkameratene


Best Actress: Ine Marie Wilmann – Homesick

Best Actor: Bjørn Sundquist – Here Is Harold (read our review)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Anne Krigsvoll – Women in Oversized Men’s Shirts

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Henrik Mestad – Børning

Best Director: Aslaug Holm – Brothers

Best Children’s Film: Operation Arctic – directed by Grethe Bøe-Waal, produced by John M. Jacobsen, Sveinung Golimo and Marcus Brodersen for Filmkameratene

Best Documentary: Drone – Tonje Hessen Schei

Best Short Film: Bunker – Vibeke Heide

Best Screenplay: Bent Hamer – 1001 gram

1001 Grams
1001 Grams

Best Visual Effects: Morten Moen and Tine Teigene Dalen – Captain Sabertooth and the Treasure of Lama Rama

Best Editing: Christoffer Heie and Ida Kolstø – The Accidental Rock Star

Best Music: Nicholas Sillitoe – The Disappearing Illusionist (read our review in the upcoming magazine)

Best Sound Design: Fredric Vogel and Petter Fladeby – Børning

Best Cinematography: Simon Pramsten – Here Is Harold

Best Art Direction/Scenography: Peter de Neergaard – Beatles

Best Foreign Film in Theatrical Release: Leviathan – Andrey Zvyagintsev, distributed by Arthaus

The Amanda Committee’s Golden Clapper: Harald Mæle

The People’s Amanda: Børning

The Amanda Committee Honorary Award: Director Vibeke Løkkeberg


The 2015 Amanda Juries

Main Jury

  • Jury President Ellen Horn
  • Director Katarina Launing
  • Playwright Gunnar Germundson
  • Actor Hauk Heyerdahl
  • Producer/Dean Leif Holst Jensen
  • Cinema Manager Jørgen Søderberg Jansen
  • Cinematographer John-Fredrik Bødtker

Best Documentary Jury

  • Director Tone Andersen
  • Producer Mette Cheng Munthe-Kaas
  • Director/Producer John Sullivan

Best Short Film Jury

  • Director Sara Eliassen
  • Producer Helga Fjordholm
  • Director Izer Aliu

Jury for Best Foreign Film in Theatrical Release

  • Jury President Jørgen Søderberg Jansen, Fredrikstad Cinema
  • Anita Kristensen, Bø Cinema
  • Stein Sørensen, Bergen Cinema
  • Øystein Simonsen, Tysvær Cinema
  • Kristin Kildal, Rana Cinema


Information gathered from the Norwegian Film Institute

Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.