The winners of Norway’s Gullruten Awards

The Norwegian television awards were held over the weekend, with the NRK series Home Ground coming out as the big winner of the night.

Called the Gullruten in Norwegian, these awards are handed out at the Grieg Hall in Bergen and reward television programs, actors and presenters. The technical awards were announced a couple weeks ago (see the winners here).

The new Norwegian drama series Home Ground won the prize for Best Drama Series. It follows Helena Mikkelsen’s struggle to make it as Europe’s first female coach for a men’s team in the National Premier league in Norway.

You can view some of the winners below.

PRIZE WINNER: Home Ground received the award for best drama series. Photo: Berit Roald / NTB scanpix / Source: TV2

Best Drama Series
Aber Bergen (ITV for MTG)
WINNER: Home Ground (NRK for NRK)
One Night (NRK for NRK)

Best Reality Series 
WINNER: Ramm and Tørnquist rescue Norway (Monster for TV 2)
Teenage Boss (NRK for NRK)
Luxury Trap (Rubicon for MTGTV)
Family Expedition (Strix for NRK)

Best Male Actor
Odd Magnus Williamsson in Aber Bergen
Tobias Santelmann in Borderliner
WINNER: Axel Bøyum in Home Ground
Anders Baasmo Christiansen in One Night

Best Female Actor
Ellen Dorrit Petersen in Aber Bergen 
WINNER: Ane Dahl Torp in Home Ground
Gørild Mauseth in Monster
Myanna Buring in One Night

Best Documentary Series
The Date (Monster for NRK)
When We Ruled the Country (Norwegian television for NRK)
Takin Ova (Norwegian television for NRK)
WINNER: The Sibling (Novembermovie 
for TV 2)

Best TV Documentary
Between Us (Media Operators for Aftenposten)
69 Minutes of 86 Days (True and false for Aftenposten)
The Norwegian Islamist (Upnorth film and curry film for NRK)
WINNER: St. Halvardhjemmet (Zacapa for NRK)

Best Comedy Series
WINNER: Stories from Norway (Concorde for Discovery)
White Guys (Feelgood for Discovery)
Hit for Hit (Seefood TV for NRK)
Viking (NRK)

Television Moment of the Year
Ulsteinvik runs from the world. Karsten Warholm takes World Cup Gold! – Produced by NRK for NRK
Therese Johaug: Shocked! – Produced by Globus Media for TV 2
WINNER: Tangerudbakken, Free King Håkon! – Produced by Zacapa Film for Discovery Networks Norway
Adventurous Refurbishment, Adventurous Wedding! – Produced by TMM for TV3

Best Competition-driven Reality Series
Paradise Hotel (Mastiff for MTG)
WINNER: All for Norway (Monster for Discovery)
Farmer (Strix for TV 2)
The Champion’s Champion (Rubicon for NRK)

Best Male Presenter
Harald Eia for Brille (Discovery)
Øyvind Mund for Same Time Next Year (TV 2)
WINNER: Bård Tufte Johansen for New Again (NRK)
Kristian Ødegård for Household (TV 2)

Best Female Presenter
Janne Amble for Insider Five (Discovery)
Emma Clare Gabrielsen for Innafor (NRK)
Line Elvsåshagen for Line Fixes the Body (NRK)
WINNER: Helene Sandvig for Helene Checks (NRK)

To view the full list of winners, head to the TV2 website. 


Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.