The winners of Finland’s Jussi Awards 2018

The winners of Finland’s Jussi Awards have been announced, with the biggest winner of the night being The Eternal Road.

The annual Jussi Awards are Finland’s premier film industry event that rewards various sectors in the film industry.

This year’s event was touched by recent accusations from eight female actors, who accused director Aku Louhimies subjected them to demeaning tactics and abuse in the work. Almost all of the award presenters that took the stage on Friday evening made a reference to the episode, and showed their support for the women who made the charges and the #MeToo movement in general.

Louhimies’ film The Unknown Soldier broke box office records in 2017 but failed to win Best Film and Best Director. The film did win the audience award, and in his speech Louhimies apologised for his actions. The Minister of Culture Sampo Terho refused to present the award to Louhimies.

Here are the full list of winners:

Euthanizer – Producers Jani Pösö, Teemu Nikki
The Eternal Road – Producer Ilkka Matila
Wonderland – Producer Miia Haavisto
Miami – Producer Miia Haavisto
The Other Side of Hope – Aki Kaurismäki
Unknown Soldiers – Producers Aku Louhimies, Mikko Tenhunen, Miia Haavisto

AJ Annila – The Eternal Road
Aki Kaurismäki – The Other Side of Hope
Aku Louhimies – Unknown Soldier
Teemu Nikki – Euthanizer

Milka Ahlroth – Wonderland
Krista Kosonen – Miami
Sonja Kuittinen – Miami
Pihla Viitala – Star Boys

Eero Aho – Unknown Soldier
Sherwan Haji – The Other Side of Hope
Tommi Korpela – The Eternal Road
Petteri Summanen – Man and a Baby

Sidse Babett Knudsen – The Eternal Road
Malla Malmivaara – Star Boys
Hannamaija Nikander – Euthanizer
Anna Paavilainen – Wonderland

Hannu-Pekka Björkman – The Eternal Road
Tomi Enbuska – Star Boys
Aku Hirviniemi – Unknown Soldier
Jussi Vatanen – Unknown Soldier

Aki Kaurismäki – The Other Side of Hope
Inari Niemi – Wonderland
Teemu Nikki – Euthanizer
Antti Tuuri, AJ Annila, Aku Louhimies – The Eternal Road

Lasse Frank, DFF – Tom of Finland
Jarkko T. Laine – Star Boys
Mika Orasmaa – Unknown Soldier
Rauno Ronkainen – The Eternal Road

Tytti Arola – Wendy and the Refugee Neverland
Lasse Enersen – Unknown Soldier
Timo Kaukolampi, Tuomo Puranen – Euthanizer
Ian Person, Kalle Gustafsson Järneholm, Panu Aaltio, Tuomas Kantelinen – The Eternal Road

Fredrik Dalenfjäll – The Eternal Road
Jussi Honka, Enos Desjardins – The Thick Lashed of Lauri Mäntyvaara
Kirka Sainio – Unknown Soldier
Niklas Skarp, Christian Holm – Tom of Finland

Samu Heikkilä – The Other Side of Hope
Ben Mercer – Unknown Soldier
Riitta Poikselkä – Punk Voyage
Tambet Tasuja – The Eternal Road

Saara Joro – Star Boys
Kari Kankaanpää – The Thick Lashed of Lauri Mäntyvaara
Kalju Kivi – The Eternal Road
Christian Olander – Tom of Finland

Tiina Kaukanen – Miami
Tiina Kaukanen – The Other Side of Hope
Eugen Tamberg – The Eternal Road
Anna Vilppunen – Tom of Finland

Johanna Eliason, Lars Carlsson – Tom of Finland
Marjut Samulin – Miami
Riikka Virtanen – The Eternal Road
Salla Yli-luopa – Unknown Soldier

Hobbyhorse revolution – Director Selma Vilhunen
The Good Postman –  Director Tonislav Hristov
Punk Voyage – Directors Jukka Kärkkäinen & JP Passi
Angle of the North – Director Jean-Michel Roux

Ceiling- Director Teppo Airaksinen
Penelope – Director Heta Jäälinoja
Moonshiners – Director Juho Kuosmanen
Fucking Bunnies – Director Teemu Niukkanen

CategoriesAwards Finland
Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.