The winners of Denmark’s Robert Awards

The winners of Denmark’s Robert Awards have been announced, with The Day Will Come the big winner of the night. The film is set in the sixties and follows two brothers rebellion against the tyranny in a boys home. The film won six awards.


The Robert Awards are organised by the Danish Film Academy, whose members are made up by film industry professionals. See the full list of winners below.

Robert Awards / Winners 2017

Best Danish Film

Best Children & Youth Film

Best Director

Best Original Script

  • Søren Sveistrup (The Day Will Come)

Best Adapted Script

Best Actress

Best Actor

Best Supporting Actress

Best Supporting Actor

Best Production Designer

  • Sabine Hviid (The Day Will Come)

Best Cinematographer

  • Natasha Braier (The Neon Demon)

Best Costume Designer

  • Stine Thaning (The Day Will Come)

Best Make-up Artist

  • Erin Ayanian Monroe (The Neon Demon)

Best Editor

  • Anne Østerud, Tanya Fallenius (Parents)

Best Sound Designer

  • Eddie Simonsen, Anne Jensen (The Neon Demon)

Best Score

  • Cliff Martinez (The Neon Demon)

Best Original Song

  • 100 Meter Mind Dash (Shelley)

Best Visual Effects

  • Peter Hjorth (The Neon Demon)

Best Short Fiction – Animation

  • Sia / National Film School of Denmark / prod. Caroline Eybye / dir. Annika Berg

Best Documentary

  • Who We Were / dir. Sine Skibsholt / prod. Helle Faber for Made in Copenhagen

Best American Film

  • The Revenant / dir. Alejandro González Iñárritu

Best Non-American Film

  • Son of Saul (László Nemes)

Best Short TV Series

  • Ditte & Louise II / DR Drama / dir. Niclas Bendixen / writers: Ditte Hansen, Louise Mieritz

Best Long TV Series

  • Follow the Money / DR / dir. Per Fly / writer: Jeppe Gjervig Gram

Best Actress – TV-series

  • Louise Mieritz (Ditte & Louise II)

Best Actor – TV Series

  • Thomas Bo Larsen (Follow the Money)

Best Supporting Actress – TV Series

  • Bodil Jørgensen (Rytteriets jul)

Best Supporting Actor – TV Series

  • Esben Smed (Follow the Money)

Blockbuster Audience Award

  • One-Two-Three Now! / dir. Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg / prod. Regner Grasten Film for Regner Grasten Filmproduktion

The Danish Directors’ Ib Award

  • Producer Jacob Jarek

Honorary Robert

  • Grip Jimmy Leavens

The Kathrine Windfeld Award

  • Writer Mette Heeno
CategoriesAwards Denmark
Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.