The 2014 Amanda Winners

Amanda Awards 2014

Aksel Hennie won Best Actor for his role in Pioneer, his fourth win in this category.  Ellen Dorrit Petersen received Best Actress for her role in Blind, while the audience voted Ragnarok as the winner of the People’s Amanda.

The evening’s big winners were Blind and A Thousand Times Good Night, which won respectively four and three awards. Erik Poppe’s A Thousand Times Good Night received Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release, Best Music and Best Cinematography. His directorial debut Blind won Eskil Vogt the Best Directing Amanda, and it was also awarded with Amandas for Best Editing and Best Sound Design.

The Amanda Committee Honorary Award this year went to the actress Elsa Lystad.

This year`s Amanda winners:

Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release

A Thousand Times Good Night, produced by Finn Gjerdrum and Stein B. Kvae for Paradox, directed by Erik Poppe

Best Actress

Ellen Dorrit Petersen, Blind

Best Actor

Aksel Hennie, Pioneer

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Ivan Anderson, Letter to the King

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Herbert Nordrum, Crack, Back & Sack

Best Directing

Eskil Vogt, Blind

Best Children’s Film

The Christmas of Solan & Ludvig, produced by Cornelia Boysen for Maipo film, directed by Rasmus A. Sivertsen

Best Documentary

Light Fly, Fly High, directed and produced by Susann Østigaard and Beathe Hofseth for Fri film

Best Short Film

Amazon, directed by Marianne Ulrichsen, produced by Ragna Midtgard and Maria Ekerhovd for MER Film

Best Screenplay

Hisham Zaman and Mehmet Aktas, Letter to the King

Best Visual Effects

Jeppe Nygaard Christensen, Ivan Kondrup Jensen, Rikke Hovgaard Jørgensen and Arne Kaupang, Ragnarok

Best Editing

Jens Christian Fodstad, Blind

Best Music

Armand Amar, A Thousand Times Good Night

Best Sound Design

Gisle Tveito, Blind.

Best Cinematography

John Christian Rosenlund, A Thousand Times Good Night

Best Scenography/Production Design

Karl Júlíussen, Pioneer

Best Foreign Film

The Great Beauty, directed by Paolo Sorrentino

The Amanda Committee’s Gullklapper (“The Golden Clapper”)

June Paalgard, make-up and wigmaker

The People’s Amanda


The Amanda Committee Honorary Award

Elsa Lystad, actress

via the Norwegian Film Institute

Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.