Sweden: This Year’s Guldbagge Nominations Are Out

The nominations for the Guldbagge Awards for the film year of 2017 were announced in Stockholm today. Borg vs. McEnroe, Sámi Blood, The Nile Hilton Incident & The Square among the most nominated films. Several film-makers also attended the event and talked about their project. The gala will held 22 January.

Director Tarik Saleh spoke about the national response and the transnational aspect of his film. The Nile Hilton Incident is set in Cairo and none Swedish word can be heard in it, still it is considered a Swedish feature and been nominated. He expressed his gratitude to the Swedish public and film industry. Fares Fares is also really pleased with the result, and this project means a lot to him. (Read our interview with the director here.)

Jon Nohrstedt and Fredrik Wikström Nicastro, the producers of the film Borg vs. McEnroe, talked about the fact this is the first Swedish film ever that opened the Toronto International Film Festival. They also mentioned that, thanks to the international sucess of the film, Sverrir Gudnason got an international agent. Gudnason also received the IMDb Breakout Star Award in Toronto. (Read our interview with the film’s screenwriter here.)

Director Amanda Kernell, and actresses Lene Cecilia and Mia Sparrok were speaking about their film Sámi Blood. The director briefly talked about the historical aspect of the film. She found it rather challenging to make a film reflecting on history. She has been working with short films for ten years or so, but has never had to think so much about costumes, for instance. The Sparrok sisters shared their experience of working together. According to Lee, it had both a positive and a negative side. She was happy that she could work with her sister, but she also thought Mia was much better than her, she said while smiling. (Read our review of the film here.)

Here are the list of the nominated films and film-makers.

Best Film

  • Borg vs. McEnroe | Producers: Jon Nohrstedt & Fredrik Wikström Nicastro
  • Ravens | Producers: Jan Marnell, Tom Persson & Jens Assu
  • Sámi Blood | Producer: Lars G. Lindström
  • The Nile Hilton Incident | Producer: Kristina Åberg
  • The Square | Producers: Erik Hemmendorff & Philippe Bober

Best Director

  • Janus Metz (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Amanda Kernell (Sámi Blood)
  • Tarik Saleh (The Nile Hilton Incident)
  • Ruben Östlund  (The Square)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Jennie Silfverhjelm (All Inclusive)
  • Evin Ahmad (Dröm vidare)
  • Lene Cecilia Sparrok (Sámi Blood)
  • Mia Skäringer (Solsidan) 

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Sverrir Gudnason (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Reine Brynolfsson (Ravens)
  • Fares Fares (The Nile Hilton Incident)
  • Claes Bang (The Square)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Gizem Erdogan (Dröm vidare)
  • Julia Kijowska (Strawberry Days)
  • Maria Heiskanen (Ravens)
  • Mia Erika Sparrok (Sámi Blood)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Shia LaBeouf (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Stellan Skarsgård (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Przemyslaw Sadowski (Strawberry Days)
  • Yasser Ali Maher (The Nile Hilton Incident)

Best Screenplay

  • Maud Nycander, Jannike Åhlund & Kersti Grunditz Brennan (Citizen Schein)
  • Can Demirtas & Ivica Zubak (A Hustlers Diary)
  • Amanda Kernell (Sámi Blood)
  • Ruben Östlund (The Square)

Best Cinematography

  • Jonas Alarik (Ravens)
  • Sophia Olsson (Sámi Blood)
  • Fredrik Wenzel (The Square)

Best Editing

  • Per Sandholt & Per K. Kirkegaard (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Kersti Grunditz Brennan (Citizen Schein)
  • Anders Skov (Sámi Blood)

Best Costume Design

  • Kicki Ilander (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Sharareh Hosseini & David Markfant (Para knas)
  • Louize Nissen (The Nile Hilton Incident)

Best Sound Design

  • Mattias Eklund (Ravens)
  • Mira Falk & Brian Dyrby (Silvana)
  • Fredrik Jonsäter (The Nile Hilton Incident)

Best Make-up

  • Sara Klänge (All Inclusive)
  • Petra Cabbe (Solsidan)
  • Dorothea Wiedermann (The Nile Hilton Incident)

Best Original Music

  • Jonas Struck, Jon Ekstrand & Vladislav Delay (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Karl Frid & Pär Frid (Citizen Schein)
  • Peter von Poehl (Ravens)

Best Scenograph

  • Lina Nordqvist (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Roger Rosenberg (The Nile Hilton Incident)
  • Josefin Åsberg (The Square)

Best Visual Effects

  • Torbjörn Olsson & Alex Hansson (Borg vs. McEnroe)
  • Torbjörn Olsson (Ravens)
  • Alex Hansson och Chris Stenner (Monky)

Best Short Film

  • The Burden (Niki Lindroth von Bahr)
  • Nattbarn (Sanna Lenken)
  • Studio 5 (Maximilien Van Aertryck & Axel Danielson)

Best Documentary

  • Brev till en seriemördare (Manal Masri)
  • The Celestial Darkroom (Nils Petter Löfstedt)
  • Silvana (Mika Gustafson, Olivia Kastebring & Christina Tsiobanelis)

Best Foreign Film

  • 120 BPM
  • Moonlight
  • The Salesman

The Guldbagge Audience Award

This is a new award initiated by the Swedish Film Institute and Aftonbladet (Swedish media outlet). 41 Swedish feature-length films were nominated for it, here are the 8 films that are still in competition:

  • Avicii: True Stories | Producer: Levan Tsikurishvili
  • Borg vs. McEnroe | Producers: Jon Nohrstedt & Fredrik Wikström Nicastro
  • A Hustler’s Diary | Producer: Abbe Hassan
  • Para knas | Producee: Ulf Synnerholm & Malini Ahlberg
  • Sámi Blood | Producee: Lars G. Lindström
  • Small Town Curtains | Producer: Patrik Axén
  • Solsidan | Producer: Emma Nyberg
  • Superswede | Producer: Mia Sohlman

You can vote here:
http://guldbaggen.aftonbladet.se/ (Only in Swedish)

Photo: Johan Bergmark

Barbara Majsa

Barbara is a journalist, editor and film critic. She usually does interviews with film-makers, artists, designers, and writes about cinema, design and books.