Nordic Council Film Prize 2014 Nominations

PRESS RELEASE: SEPTEMBER 3, 2014 Five unique new films have been nominated for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2014, the Region’s most important and prestigious film award. The nominations by the national juries represent the most accomplished cinematic events of the year by the acclaimed directors Lars von Trier, Pirjo Honkasalo, Benedikt Erlingsson, Eskil Vogt and Ruben Östlund.
The five nominations for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2014 were announced today. All of the films stand out at national and international level as significant cinematographic works and have already won several awards and honours at the biggest festivals in Europe and further afield.


The five films and their directors, scriptwriters and producers competing for the Nordic Council Film Prize in 2014 are listed below.

NYMPHOMANIAC (Denmark):  Director/writer Lars von Trier and producer Louise Vesth

CONCRETE NIGHT (Finland): Director/writer Pirjo Honkasalo, writer Pirkko Saisio and producers Mark Lwoff and Misha Jaari

OF HORSES AND MEN (Iceland): Director/writer Benedikt Erlingsson and producer Friðrik Þór Fridriksson

BLIND (Norway): Director/writer Eskil Vogt and producers Sigve Endresen and Hans Jørgen Osnes

FORCE MAJEURE (Sweden): Director/writer Ruben Östlund, and producers Erik Hemmendorff and Marie Kjellson

“The five films nominated, comprising work by well-established and newer filmmakers alike, represent the crème de la crème of modern Nordic cinema. Their portrayals of human emotions and the forces of nature reflect a surprising diversity. Together with its partners, Nordisk Film & TV Fond is proud to bring these films to audiences in all five Nordic countries before the winner is announced in October,” says Petri Kemppinen, CEO of Nordisk Film & TV Fond.

The five films were selected by national juries on the basis of their high quality, their roots in Nordic culture and because they stand out via artistic originality as compelling, integrated works of art. The winner of the accolade and of the DKK 350,000 prize will be announced during the Session of the Nordic Council in Stockholm on 29 October, along with the winners of other prizes for literature, music, nature and the environment.

This is the 11th time that the Nordic Council Film Prize has been awarded. Previous winners include The Hunt (2013), Play (2012), Beyond (2011), Submarino (2010),Antichrist (2009), You, The Living (2008), The Art of Crying (2007), Zozo (2006),Manslaughter (2005) and The Man Without A Past (2002).

For further information on the judging criteria, jury comments, production notes, stills/portraits  and general information on the Nordic Council Film Prize, please read the enclosed material or visit:

Media contact:
Freddy Neumann, Neumann Strategy & Communication, tel. +45 2046 7846/

via the Nordisk Film an TV Fund

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.