Nicolas Winding Refn to release accompanying soundtrack to ‘The Neon Demon’

Several months after the release of The Neon Demon, Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn has announced that he will release a playlist of songs that inspired him during the creation of the film.

Refn has teamed up with Milan Records to release ‘The Wicked Die Young’ on vinyl. This collection of songs isn’t the same as the soundtrack, but rather it is a collection of fourteen songs from various artists not featured in the film. Instead, the songs were influential to Refn while creating The Neon Demon. Artists include Suicide, Dionne Warwick, Electric Youth, and Sparks, as well as frequent Refn-composer Cliff Martinez, who scored The Neon Demon, will contribute as well.

Refn has previously teamed up with Milan Records to release a series of scores under his “Refn Presents” series, including Robocop, It Follows, The Terminator, and Oldboy.

“The Wicked Die Young” is available now for pre-order and will land on April 14th. Artwork and tracklist below.

Side A
01. Electric Youth – ‘Good Blood’
02. Lynsey de Paul – ‘Won’t Somebody Dance With Me’
03. Suicide – ‘Cheree (1998 Remastered Version)’
04. 999 – ‘Homicide’
05. Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers – ‘Pirate Love’
06. Dionne Warwick – ‘(Theme From) Valley of the Dolls’
07. Tommy Seebach – ‘Bubble Sex’
08. Amanda Lear – ‘Follow Me’

Side B
01. Giorgio Moroder – ‘Knights In White Satin’
02. Sparks – ‘The No. 1 Song In Heaven’
03. Cliff Martinez – ‘Becoming’
04. Pino Donaggio – ‘Dressed to Kill (Pulsion) (1980): The Shower (Theme from Dressed to Kill)’
05. Claudio Gizzi – ‘End Of A Myth’
06. Julian Winding – ‘When You Want To Hurt Someone’

Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.