Juliette Binoche drama, Blind score at Norway’s Amanda Awards

A Thousand Times Good Night

Norwegian director Erik Poppe’s A Thousand Times Good Night, starring French actress Juliette Binoche, took home Best Norwegian Feature and two other prizes at Saturday’s (Aug 16) Amanda Awards in Haugesund.

The drama, which had already won the Special Jury Grand Prix in Montreal and Founders Award in Chicago, also scooped Norwegian national film awards for Best Cinematography (John Christian Rosenlund) and Best Score (Armand Amar).

Binoche stars alongside Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as a war reporter torn between her job and her family.

The other big winner on the night was Eskil Vogt’s feature debut Blind which collected four awards, including Best Director and Best Actress (Ellen Dorrit Petersen).

Blind, about a woman coming to terms with blindness, previously took the World Cinema Scriptwriting award in Sundance and the Europa Cinemas Label in Berlin.

Televised by Norway’s TV2 and hosted by Norwegian actor Ingar Helge Gimle, the show marked the 30th anniversary of the Amanda awards, created by Norwegian director-producer Bente Erichsen, who was this year’s awards president.

“I had no idea what the Amanda awards would become – I knew what it should be then: a recognition of Norwegian filmmakers,” said Erichsen, who left film to become a theatre director, and since 2005 has been head of the Nobel Peace Center in Oslo.

“Although you cannot really compete within the arts, I like people being acknowledged for what they do. All other countries had this sort of prizes, and at the time neither audiences nor the industry were particularly proud of Norwegian cinema, so self confidence was needed.”


Best Norwegian Film in Theatrical Release: A Thousand Times Good Night. Prods: Finn Gjerdrum, Stein B Kvae, for Paradox. Dir: Erik Poppe

Best Actress: Ellen Dorrit Petersen, for Blind

Best Actor: Aksel Hennie, for Pioneer (Pionér). Dir: Erik Skjoldbjærg

Best Supporting Actress in a Supporting Role: Ivan Anderson, Letter to the King (Brev til kongen)

Best Supporting Actor: Herbert Nordrum, Crack, Back & Sack (Pornopung). Dir: Johan Kaos

Best Director: Eskil Vogt, for Blind

Best Children’s Film: The Christmas of Solan & Ludvig (Solan og Ludvig – Jul i Flåklypa). Prod:Cornelia Boysen for Maipo. Dir: Rasmus A Sivertsen

Best Documentary:Light Fly, Fly High. Dirs/Prods: Susann Østigaard, Beathe Hofseth, for Fri film

Best Short: Amazon. Dir: Marianne Ulrichsen. Prods: Ragna Midtgard, Maria Ekerhovd, for Mer Film

Best Original Screenplay: Hisham Zaman, Mehmet Aktas, for Letter to the King

Best Visual Effects: Jeppe Nygaard Christensen, Ivan Kondrup Jensen, Rikke Hovgaard Jørgensen, Arne Kaupang, for Ragnarok (Gåten Ragnarok). Dir: Mikkel Brænne Sandemose

Best Editing: Jens Christian Fodstad, for Blind

Best Musical Score: Armand Amar, for A Thousand Times Good Night

Best Sound Design: Gisle Tveito, for Blind

Best Cinematography: John Christian Rosenlund, for A Thousand Times Good Night

Best Production Design: Karl Júlíussen, Pioneer

Best Foreign Feature: The Great Beauty (La Grande Bellazza/Italy). Dir: Paolo Sorrentino. Local distr: SF Norge

The Amanda Committee’s The Golden Clapper: Make-up artist and wig maker June Paalgard

The People’s Amanda: Ragnarok

The Amanda Committee’s Honorary Award: Actress Elsa Lystad

via ScreenDaily.com

Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.