Jóhann Jóhannsson nominated for BAFTA

The Icelandic composer Jóhann Jóhannsson has been nominated for the BAFTA award for Best Original Music for his score for the film Arrival.

Last year Jóhannsson was nominated for a BAFTA for his Sicario score and in 2015 he was nominated for his score for the film The Theory of Everything.

Arrival was directed by Denis Villeneuve and stars Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Forest Whitaker. This is the fourth time that Jóhannsson and Denis Villeneuve have worked together – Jóhannsson also composed the scores to Villeneuve’s previous films, Prisoners and Sicario, and scores his upcoming film, Blade Runner 2049. Jóhannsson also scored Trapped, the 10-episode TV series from creators Baltasar Kormákur and Sigurjón Kjartansson.

Two Icelanders have previously won BAFTAs: the composer Ólafur Arnalds for his original score for the BBC series Broadchurch, (2014) and Valdís Óskarsdóttir for her editing of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2005).

Info via the Icelandic Film Centre

Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.