Intrigo trilogy by Hakan Nesser being made into feature film

A new literature adaptation is coming!

The Intrigo trilogy by bestselling Swedish author Hakan Nesser is going to be adapted into an English-language film series. They will be based on his upcoming books Death of an Author, Dear Agnes and Samaria, set to be published in 2018.

The English-language films will star Ben Kingsley, Benno Furmann and Swedish actress Tuva Novotny. They will be directed by Daniel Alfredson, who previously directed The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest.

The film will be produced by Enderby Entertainment and The Amazing Film Company. The stories take place in an unspecified northern European country and centre on the themes of escape, guilt, revenge and atonement.The three adaptations will shoot consecutively in Serbia, Slovenia, Croatia and Belgium. Production on Death Of An Author begins this week and the producers anticipate wrapping principal photography on all three by August.

The first film in the series will be released in 2018.

What are your thoughts on an English-language film for a Swedish novel series?



Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.

  1. Mary Kaye Shobe says:

    Cannot wait for the three films based on Nesser’s books! Since there won’t be Scandi films to compare them to, plus solid casting with the likes of Kingsley, these should be worth watching!

Comments are closed.