Icelandic film ‘Rams’ wins the Un Certain Regard

Over the weekend the Un Certain Regard section handed out its awards – and the top prize went to Iceland’s Rams (Hrútar) by Grímur Hákonarson. The jury consisted of president Isabella Rossellini (filmmaker – United States, Italy), and jurors Haifaa al-Mansour (director – Saudi Arabia), Panos H. Koutras (director – Greece), Nadine Labaki (director, actress – Lebanon), and Tahar Rahim (actor – France).

Here’s Rossellini’s statement:

We, the jury, would like to thank the Festival de Cannes for inviting us to be part of the Jury for Un Certain Regard. The experience of watching nineteen films from twenty-one countries was memorable. It was like taking a flight over our Planet and its inhabitants… Any anthropologist would be envious of us. We would like in particular to thank Thierry Frémaux and his team for their incredible kindness. I cannot refrain from expressing also my personal gratitude to the Festival for having chosen my mother Ingrid Bergman for the poster of the 68th edition of this festival. Mamma seems to hovered over all of us, filmmakers and film lovers, as a guardian angel. Thank you.

Rams is set in a remote Icelandic farming valley, where two brothers who haven’t spoken in 40 years have to come together in order to save what’s dearest to them – their sheep. The film was shot in the remote valley of Bárdardalur in the north of Iceland this past winter.

Rams is an Icelandic/Danish co-production that has received support from both the Icelandic Film Centre and the Danish Film Institute. It was written and directed by Grímur Hákonarson, and produced by Grímar Jónsson for Netop Films. It was co-produced by Ditte Milsted and Jacob Jarek for Profile Pictures. Thor Sigurjonsson was one of the film’s executive producers, and Eva Sigurdardóttir was the line producer. International sales are being handled by New Europe Film Sales. Rams stars Sigurdur Sigurjónsson and Theodór Júlíusson. It was shot by Sturla Brandth Grovlen and edited by Kristján Lodmfjörd. Atli Örvarsson composed the score.

– Iceland Film Centre



Here are all of the winners:

HRÚTAR (Béliers / Rams) by Grímur Hákonarson

ZVIZDAN (Soleil de plomb / The High Sun) by Dalibor Matanić

Kiyoshi Kurosawa for KISHIBE NO TABI (Vers l’autre rive / Journey to the Shore)

COMOARA (Le Trésor / Treasure) by Corneliu Porumboiu

MASAAN by Neeraj Ghaywan
Ex aequo
NAHID by Ida Panahandeh



Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.