Danish films pick up early European Film Award nominations

The first winners of the 29th European Film Awards, with prizes going to two Danish films.

Martin Zandvliet’s war drama Land of Mine led the way with three awards, including Cinematography (for Camilla Hjelm Knudsen), Costumes (for Stefanie Bieker) and Hair and make-up (for Barbara Kreuzer). Land of Mine follows A young group of German POWs are made the enemy of a nation, where they are now forced to dig up two million land-mines with their bare hands.

Thomas Vinterberg’s The Commune picked up the Editing award (for Anne Østerud and Janus Billeskov Jansen). Starring Trine Dyrholm and Ulrich Thomsen, The Commune tells the story about the clash between personal desires vs. solidarity and tolerance in a Danish commune in the 70’s.

The full list of winners will be announced on the 10th of December in Wroclaw, Poland.


Here’s the full list of winners:

  • Cinematography: Camilla Hjelm Knudsen for Land Of Mine
  • Editing: Anne Østerud and Janus Billeskov Jansen for The Commune
  • Design: Alice Normington for Suffragette
  • Costumes: Stefanie Bieker for Land Of Mine
  • Hair and Make-Up: Barbara Kreuzer for Land Of Mine
  • Music: Ilya Demutsky for The Student
  • Sound: Radosław Ochnio for 11 Minutes


CategoriesAwards Denmark
Emma Vestrheim

Emma Vestrheim is the editor-in-chief of Cinema Scandinavia. Originally from Australia, she is now based in Bergen, Norway, and attends major Nordic film festivals to conduct interviews and review new films.